Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many countries are lacking for skilled workers as everyone is signing up for university programs. People should be motivated to learn any skill they think will be beneficial to them, like an electrician or a plumber. Hence, I strongly agree with this statement. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall discuss my perspective in detail.

Firstly, it is not a bad idea if one is considering studying whatever course they like. Also, nowadays there is quite a demand for people who have qualifications in certain field. Research has been carried out to identify the workers in the US are qualified or not. The result was quite thriving as in certain areas, a person with a minimum bachelor’s degree or equivalent diploma is required to acquire any position in any company. For example, a lady went for an accounting job in a firm with equivalent certifications in accounts. However, the lady only knew how to write accounts only in the traditional pen and paper style. She does not know how to use a computer for the same. Unfortunately, she did not pass the first stage of the interview. On the contrary, people today are focusing more on academic studies rather than learning any new skill.

Consequently, in comparison with the number of students pursuing their program, the lack of skilled workers worldwide has dropped dramatically. Perhaps, the demand for skilled jobs like carpenters, electricians, plumbers, etc. has risen above the ratio of people graduating every year globally.

All in all, it is not wrong to enroll in university programs, but I think universities should design such workshops for all the students, no matter from which field they belong, will enhance the overall skills of an individual. Hence, people will be encouraged to learn new skills.