Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Nowadays, people are more aware about the negative impact on the environment that multinationals are generating around the entire world. Despite the increasing need for new technologies, which is connected with the growing numbers of international companies, people do not neglect the importance of safeguarding the quality of life on Earth.

Globalization has raised consumerism stats worldwide leading to an indiscriminate use of primary natural resources primarily in developing countries. Thereby, countries like Peru in South America are dealing with a chaotic period which threatens natural assets such as the Amazon rainforest composed by a dense jungle of valuable trees cut off to be utilized in the illegal wood-processing industry. This phenomenon has triggered people to take action creating non-profit organizations with the objective of protecting the most vulnerable jungle areas. One of these organizations is JungleKeepers, whereby local people have been hired to preserve the integrity of the wilderness from timber use. Another example of the negative consequences on the environment by globalization is the car industry. The automotive sector has been pointed out as one of the major perpetrators of the rising air pollution figures due to the considerable amount of carbon dioxide emissions. For that reason, individuals are starting to decide on using new ways of getting around through cities. Furthermore, this trend is mainly present in teenagers which means that it will continue on the rise in the coming years.

In conclusion, the adverse implications produced by worldwide globalization such as deforestation and air pollution are viewed as a threat for the environment by many people and the majority of them are already reacting before it is too late.