Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

In recent years, there has been a growing concern among the idea that the increase in the amount of multinational corporates ,together with the phenomenon of globalization, negatively affect the environment. This essay agrees with this statement because many multinational companies should be held responsible for air pollution and other negative consequences that threaten our planet and its sustainability.

Firstly, I believe that the recent spread of big companies all over the world is strictly related to climate change and other environmental threats. In fact, the vast majority of that kind of activities produces industrial pollutants due to their production methods, which cause dramatic results, such as acid rain and air pollution. The former is a phenomenon in which polluted atmosphere increases rain’s acidity, that leads to another remarkable issue: soil pollution, which reduces its fertility and ,thus, endangers our livelihoods, food production in general and biodiversity. An instance in point is Shein, namely a Chinese clothing factory, that gained much popularity over the last years and was able to spread worldwide, which is held responsible for harshly polluting the environment and exploiting children workforce as well.

In conclusion, I am convinced that multinational companies are one of the major reasons for the complex situation in which our world is at the moment, and therefore, we, as a community, ought to operate in order to reduce the impact they produce. Yet, to achieve this, governments and authorities should establish new laws and restrictions with regards to the environmental effects caused by such companies.