Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that consumerism has influenced people in negative and positive sides. Some suppose that we are, as consumer societies, paying too much attention to purchasing and money. Others argue that materialistic society is a crucial and essential aspect of modern life. In my view, consumer culture has more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, advertising causes impulsive purchases, which in turn leads to unnecessary spending and debts. For example, Apple is a company that produces new smartphones and additional accessories for them every year, their marketing makes people addictive. Buyers take out loans to buy new phones and items for them. Unfortunatelly, design of smartphone changes only a little every time and cases don’t fit anymore. Hence purchases are made again and again.

On the other hand, consumer culture is driven by innovation and invention. These products make people’s live easier and improve the quality of life. Gadgets help run businesses, stay involved in world news, and get information quickly. If there was no demand there would be no supply and the world would not know about the possibilities and people would not have the desire to study and invent something new.

In conclusion, the esse shows advantages and disadvantages of consumer societies, hoeverit is a nowadays reality and how people deal with it depends only on them.