Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some believe that the modern world can be described in the words of ‘consumer societies, where a lot of things depend on your financial status, while others give a positive evaluation of consumer culture. In my opinion, the estimation of this phenomenon should take into account all the benefits that it brings.

On the one hand, consumer culture forced society to focus only on financial results, not the process. Money as a universal instrument gives access to a huge amount of opportunity and benefits, which can also improve your social status. For example, thanks to money, people have the possibility to enter the top universities and, as a consequence, obtain valuable social connections and high-paid jobs on the market. It means that exactly from money depends the future of every person.

On the other hand, the expansion of the values of consumer culture has beneficial effects on modern society. Expanding access to a large number of goods and services meaningfully changes the lives of ordinary people around the world. For instance, even in the purest countries, the local communities and tourists can find some vital medical products, such as paracetamol. This example shows how consumer culture can improve the quality of life and longevity.

In conclusion, there are two views on the actual situation. Some focus on the negative perception of a money-based society, while others highlight improving the quality of life. From my point of view, due to the constant change in society, we need to adapt ourselves to the existing conditions, orienting toward the positive.