The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although the internet connect us with each other no matter where we are, people can lose their social life and isolate of reality. This statement is widely discussed among people, which often leads to divided opinions and no clear consensus. However, personally, I partly agree with both ideas as the online communication may create illusions of social life and it helps to be able to stay in touch regardless of distance.

Many support the view that the internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. Despite the fact that people live in different countries, they may stay in touch though the internet. Thanks modern communication technologies, people can interact in real time and share immediately emotions and news. For instance, the number of students studying abroad has increased significantly, while many of them are unable to see their close friends and family regularly. Therefore, distance is no longer a barrier to maintaining close relationships.

Nevertheless, although the internet has many benefits, it can also leads social isolation. Online communication may create a false impression of social connections. This may lead to a decline in real life communication skill, making it more difficult for face to face relationships. For example, teenagers often communicate actively though chats and social media, but they can have problem of expressing thoughts during face to face meeting. Hence, the overuse internet communication may reduce this significant soft skill.

In conclusion, the internet makes it possible for people to remain connected no matter where they are, however it may also lead to social isolation and reduce face to face interaction.