Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some believe that the phenomenon of the extinction of flora and fauna can be considered a global ecological urge, while the majority highlight other environmental troubles. In my opinion, humanity needs to pay more attention to all kinds of pollution.

On the one hand, nowadays, scientists have noticed a significant decrease in the population of many animals and plants around the world. Actually, the situation of the loss of some species may lead to global changes in local biosystems and, as a consequence, in the world. Also, it is important to mention that this process can happen naturally or unnaturally in humans. For example, the artificial reduction of the population of rabbits in Australia leads to ecological catastrophe and a deficit of animal feed.

On the other hand, in the current situation of ecological crisis, there are more vital issues mainly related to human activity. Those problems, in terms of causes and consequences, have a bigger effect on the environment in the long run. If we go back to the topic of excessive extinction of animals and plants, this problem is usually caused by pollution of natural habitats. For instance, oil spills can deprive aquatic inhabitants of nutrition, which actually happens in the oceans and seas.

In conclusion, there are two points of view on this problem. Some focus exclusively on the reduction of species and consider it a main issue, while others pay attention to other urgent issues. From my point of view, humanity should concentrate on the solution of global pollution, which has many negative ecological consequences.