Many people spend a large amount of their free time watching movies. What might be the reasons for this? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

In this ever-growing epoch, the sources of gaining pleasures have also been transforming exponentially, like the allure of cinema has captivated the audience worldwide transcending the geographical boundaries and cultural divides, which is affecting the individuals’ cognition negatively. Therefore, this essay intends to highlight the forces behind this change in habits and delve into how this is a pessimistic development.

A myriad of factors is responsible for individuals devoting their leisure time to watching movies, the predominant one is sheer entertainment and unwinding. Cinematic experiences offer a temporary escape from monotonous life, distracting the viewers from the stresses of life, which further aids them to reduce the anxiety levels. Audiences find solace in the way movies take them to different realms of reality, even if it is for a few hours. For instance, comedy movies have been proven to decrease stress hormones levels and blood pressure. Additionally, watching movies is a communal activity, offering ways of social bonding and shared experiences among friends, families, and communities. The act of collectively consuming cinema fosters a sense of camaraderie and connection, whether gathered in theaters or living rooms.

Paradoxically, though the educational and informative aspect of movies is quite promising as some movies convey valuable lessons, historical events, and crucial social issues, still utilizing excessive time on films is not a wise decision. This is prominently because it fosters a sedentary lifestyle which can result in many physical and mental complications such as obesity, cardiovascular diseases, and low self-esteem, for there is little to no productivity in life. Also, the desire to stay at one place to enjoy the cinematic expressions deters individuals to have healthy relations and social life, in some cases resulting in complete social isolation. Consequently, the overall cognitive development of a person is disrupted.

In conclusion, the feeling of relaxation attained by whisking away to the alternate realities with the assistance of films drives people to opt for such a habit, however this can critically impact their way of life, distorting their overall growth as an intellectual human.