Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, environmental development has become an important issue in modern society. Many people believe that individuals’ actions in improving the environment is unnecessary, and the responsibilities solely belong to governments and businesses which have influenced societies. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this idea due to many reasons.

On the one hand, individuals play an essential role in environmental improvement via their sustainable lifestyles. With residents’ participation, the responsibilities of authorities may be reduced and individuals can be independent in protecting the environment which directly affects their own life. For instance, using reusable bags instead of single-use plastics minimize waste that is harmful to the environment. Moreover, the more individuals raise awareness of protecting the environment, the less governments’ and large businesses’ duty and budget needed to address environmental issues.

On the other hand, only authorities’ and businesses’ actions may not be fully effective in developing the environment. Although they could create proper plans for improvement and invest in advanced technology, many solutions such as stricter laws or encouraging policies in environmental conservation are not efficient without residents’ implementation. For example, in many developed countries, the cooperation of citizens and governments builds a strong connection in preserving the environment. They also promote using green products from large businesses to reach the goal of a green planet.

In conclusion, although the duty of governments and businesses in environmental improvement is crucial, individuals’ responsibilities are also necessary for comprehensive development. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the combination between residents, governments, and large businesses is the most beneficial for the sustainable environment.