Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the only way to help environment is using the power of government and large companies. I completely disagree with this opinion and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view.

The most compelling reason for holding to my view is that one’s small action can make huge differences in to improve environment. For example, if a teacher does not use a plastic bottle to drink water in the class, students can be impressed by their teacher and the whole class can stop using plastic bottles. In addition, individuals affect companies through their behaviors and opinions. As public demand for eco-friendly products increases, companies are likely to start producing new water bottles that are more environmentally friendly.

Another reason for my position is that everyday choices that are made by individuals such as recycling, reducing waste, saving energy, and using different means of transport play a significant role on environmental damage. For example, if everyone makes conscious efforts to reduce their energy consumption by turning off lights or unplugging electronic devices this will result in significant reduction in greenhouse gas emission. Therefore, daily choices that people make in their lives are crucial.

Lastly, individuals can have a power to influence the governments and companies to take actions. If a number of people demand change about environmental issues governments will be more likely to listen and take actions. For example, the widespread protests and demonstrations about climate change have forced governments and companies to make changes regarding their policies and practices.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the assertion that only governments and companies are responsible for the protection of the environment. It is also true that individuals can make a difference by making small changes in their lives, influencing governments and large companies.