Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief, that only high-impact authorities like governments or large companies may be successful in improving the environment, as they have not only power, but resources. This might seem like an obvious answer, but some believe, that single individuals could also make a difference, if they put some effort into it.

On one hand it seems like a good idea to simply pass all the responcibility for environmental change on government and impactful organisations, however, it looks like that’s the easiest way to take all the work off inividuals’ shoulders. From this perspective we can call it “unwillingness to take actions”. Surely, we can justify ourselves by saying that companies have money, knowlege, and can involve more companies into campaigns for saving the planet, and that would not be wrong, however, we should start with ourselves.

The main argument people use to avoid responcibility is saying that single individuals cannot make any difference, as 1 person out of almost 9 billion living on Earth is nothing. We shall look at it from another perspective. If we take all the people, who use this excuse, the number is going to be absolutely insane, so I would say here is that most powerful mechanism of saving the planet.

We shall not rely on governments, businesses, and other authirities. The key is changing ourselves, even the smallest change in our routine like reducing electricity and water overuse, sorting the gabage, recycling old clothes can have a great impact on the environment.