Many people think that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The statement given is not true to a large extent. A big change like improving the environment takes a lot of effort and focus. This gigantic change can take place, if we humans collectively start working towards it. Governments and Large companies are corporate bodies made up of people only. If there is no will, then there will hardly be a change and for a change this big, it requires the cooperation of every single being.

People can start by taking a few steps, like – segregating household wastes, planting trees occasionally, disposing off garbage in the right cans, not generating waste. These little inputs if done on a everyday basis can contribute to a significant change. Governments and other coporate bodies can make it easier for people to have access to various rescources and can provide funding, but we should not fully rely on these institutions.

It is vital to improve the environment, as deterioration to it will adversely effect the lives of human beings. One of the most devastating reprecussion of enivornment degradation is global warming. Global warming has to desturction of many natural resources. It’s consequences include, melting of glaciers, depletion of the ozone layer, poor air quality, etc.

Lastly, it is the individuals who together as community will make a positive yet enormous impact on the environment. We as individuals should take a step foward to improve the environment, by seeking help from institutions. By helping the environement, we are helping ourselves too. Together as one unit, we can make a notable change.