Many pharmaceutical companies advertise their medications on television and the radio. Some people say this is inappropriate, as it can lead to people seeking prescriptions, rather than diagnosing the root problem. Others believe it is important to spread awareness for all solutions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the era where technological devices are developing in where people live, there are more advertisements of medicines on televisions and radio, leading to many concerns between people. Some truths hold that this is not suitable since individuals might skip the diagnosing step to apply the publicized medications, while some argue that introducing all solutions and raising awareness through broadcasting devices are crucial. Although both views hold merit, I agree more with the former perspective, which will be explained more in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that using television and radio to advertise several types of medicines can offer individuals some advantages. First and foremost, every kind of medication which is sent to media companies all need to be approved strictly before appearing in front of audiences, which means the advertised medicines are always legit. Consequently, people can have more choices among many kinds of medicines to cure their diseases and help their treatment process become more effective. However, this idea is flawed as the patients will receive the prescriptions including necessary types of medicines from doctors after identifying their diseases at hospitals, and the advertisements on television and radio might become unhelpful.

Therefore, I am of the opinion that advertising medications on broadcasting media is improper since they can threaten the lives of people. Specifically, seeking prescriptions without diagnosing the real reasons might make individuals who do not understand clearly about the medical field buy wrong types of medicines which are not suitable with their diseases. This might not only create side effects but also adverse effects on individuals’ health. For instance, people who have headaches can buy pain medicines which are advertised on the television, but they do not know their exact cause behind that. As headache might be a symptom of dangerous diseases such as cancer, eye and blood diseases, it can make people’s health become worse day by day if they are not cured on time.

All in all, I advocate that advertisements of medicines on television and radio should not appear in individuals’ lives. Although they might help people have more choices in buying products, their disadvantages outweigh the advantages due to bad effects on people’s health.