Many schools these days have problems with poor student behavior. Why do you think these problems occur? What could be done to tackle these problems?

This contemporary era has witnessed a significant rise in misbehavior among students. Such a trend does not occur without cause, and addressing this concerning issue would require a multifaceted approach.

There are a range of factors contributing to the persistent misconducts at school. The primitive cause may lie in parents themselves, who have been more permissive than ever before, giving too much autonomy to their offspring in terms of behavior, especially with their tutors. This is further exacerbated by the fact that today’s teenagers, in general, are excessively exposed to social media and digital outlets, including TikTok, Facebook, or YouTube. All of these platforms often feature a new form of celebrity culture in which influencers may not necessarily possess desirable moral traits and set a good example, but adopt controversial or attention-grabbing behaviors, inevitably translating misbehavior as a form of self-expression and leading to a large number of youngsters following their steps. Besides, educators are no longer held in high regard. Deemed only facilitators of information, teachers struggle to command the respect necessary to maintain discipline in the classroom.

However, such an issue is open to amelioration with appropriate solutions. Firstly, it is imperative for parents to take a proactive role in their children’s moral education. This can be achieved by establishing clear behavioral boundaries and exemplifying the values of respect and politeness. By doing so, they can reinforce the importance of appropriate conduct. Moreover, educators must strive to cultivate engaging and inspiring lesson plans, as well as foster positive relationships with their students, to cultivate a sense of mutual respect. Furthermore, regulatory measures must be implemented to scrutinize the content that permeates popular social media channels. By evaluating the appropriateness of mainstream content, educators and parents can work together to protect adolescents from negative influences and promote healthier online interactions.

In conclusion, behavioral problems in students can be attributed to permissive parenting, excessive engagement with digital outlets, and a lack of respect for the teaching profession. Improving student behavior would require a united effort by creating a supportive family and school culture and tackling the adverse impacts of social media.