Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Some young people prefer getting higher education in cities which are far from their hometown. Although it may be difficult to see relatives and old friends in such circumstances, I think that benefits outweigh because of the prospects of better education.

The main drawback of studying far from home is inability to meet with friends and family frequently enough. Put simply, travels from the college to the hometown and back may be long and costly, and, also, not combining well with the curriculum. For example, in Russia many students choosing to attend at Moscow universities, therefore, a flight to their hometown may cost hundreds of dollars which is barely affordable for them. However, this essay would argue that opportunities provided are worth it.

On the other hand, choosing from distant institutes gives students a chance to find a more interesting program and get education of a higher quality. In other words, there are better prospects for someone attending at the best universities of their country or even of the whole world. For instance, in America many young people from across the country are trying their best to be able to study at most prestigious universities like MIT or Stanford. I believe that for many teenagers with ambitions it is worth trying study far from home.

In conclusion, while in may be hard to live far from place where one was born and grew up without seeing people they love regularly, the advantages of getting education of their dreams in one of the best colleges or universities are very significant.