Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

An increasing number of students prefer education after school far away from their homes. Although it is complicated for first year students to deal with all new responsibilities by themself, I believe that it contributes to their personal independence from parents.

To begin with, learners face various problems at academic institutions on the way to successful careers. Young people are more likely to rely on their parents, where they enjoy their carefree years at school. After finishing, they struggle with new problems, which happen in their lives, such as renting an apartment, earning money and studying. For instance, it is very common for UK students, when they study far from their home, to drop out of the education process, due to the bourden of new accountabilities. In my opinion it is a negative trend, because they do not get used to this pace of life, and it can break their personal growth, but it strengthens their skills to be independent.

On the other hand, these difficult obstacles provide undergraduates with a beneficial environment far away from the motherland. To an extent, by maintaining independent adult life, learners learn new skills, like responsibility, creativity and heightened awareness of solutions. For example, in Ukraine many students, who begin their education far from their homeland after 14 years, are more likely to have career progression in the future. I suggest that it is crucial for them and should be prioritized.

In conclusion, although long distance education creates numerous concerns for students, I am convinced that advantages outweigh the disadvantages, because it enhance their persuasiveness and simplify decision of future issues