Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Certain students find it difficult to concentrate on their studies in the school. This can be attributed to their incessant distractions by the internet and I believe the probable solution to this quagmire is to restrict them from using phones untill they reach a more matured age.

A major reason students do not focus on their studies is because their attention is drawn away by online activities such as checking social media, texting friends and playing games. Some students have made these their common practice during lectures in the classroom or while doing personal study. A good way to illustrate this is London, United Kingdom. A research carried out in the London School of Economics in the year 2020 revealed that a significant number of students who do not pay attention in class teachings are addicted to their mobile phones such that it has become pervasive part of their lives.

However, a potential solution to the aforementioned problem is for parents to disallow their children from using phones untill they attain a more matured age. When students are more grown up before they start using mobile devices, they will know how to use it to their advantage instead of abusing its use. As an illustration, a study conducted in Kwara Polytechnic, Ilorin in the year 2022, showed that students that students who started using handsets after the age of eighteen years were less distracted during studies than their counterparts who have been using it before the age of eighteen.

In conclusion, a some students are not giving due attention to their studies because they are preoccupied with the misuse of internet facilities. I believe parents refusing to get their children mobile devices before a more matured age is a way out of this challenge.