Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

Higher education at university or college is said to involve more difficulties than at school. In my opinion, this phenomenon may be attributed to the number of participants in the class and the curriculums at two levels of education. The challenge it creates may explain why students should have a balanced approach to learn effectively.

Firstly, there are a number of factors responsible for the increase in the level of difficulty. Chief among these is that most lectures at universities or colleges record a relatively higher students’ attendance than a majority of highschool classes. For example, while a university lecture room can usually accommodate about 60 people, there are only less than 30 students allowed to join a class at school. Such a significant number of people may hinder professors from supervising and ensuring that everyone is able to understand the lessons. Another reason is that courses in university lay a basis for people’s career, whereas lessons at schools may only offer general knowledge for young people. This may be why numerous specialized knowledge and skills are demanded, necessitating the students to put considerable effort into mastering their higher education.

Nevertheless, various solutions can be adopted to tackle this challenge. The first possible approach is that people can contact their teachers or professors to receive advice when facing hardships. They can also talk to seniors that have multiple experiences, simultaneously fostering a cohesive bond with them. This relationship may provide people with a variety of vocational opportunities, such as enabling them to find an internship at profound companies. The second solution is that students should have reasonable time management. For instance, they may have to introduce their own studying schedules that are suitable for their ability.

In conclusion, several reasons can be given to explain why achieving higher academic study at university and colleges is harder than at schools. However, steps can be taken to alleviate that problem and improve people’s studying efficiency.