Many students reside at home with their parents while studying at their university, while many other students live in foreign countries to attend their university.

Although living in the same country as your home,where your university is close, is less expensive and less worrying, I believe the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because studying abroad provides more cultural knowledge, and you become more responsible for yourself.

The major reason university students prefer a bachelor’s or master’s degree in their hometown is parental care.When you live with your family, you feel supported and safe.Especially budget support, when you do not need an extra job for housing or groceries.Moreover, your parents will not be worrying about you when you are at the university because it is not so far, and you can spend more time with your family.For instance, my brothers, who studied at the university in our hometown, spent their leisure time together, and our parents were calm knowing that they were close.However, I think that residing with your family while studying at the university can lead to overprotection by parents and irresponsibility in students.

Studying abroad, far from your hometown, enables you to feel freedom without your parents and to explore other cultures and countries.This kind of studying enhances your abilities in taking care of yourself and your self-confidence.Furthermore, it can even change your perspective on life.For instance, my aunt, who has been studying in the U.S. since 2022, says that it is more comfortable when you are far from your hometown and observe other people and other countries.I think that after she entered the university, she became more mature and courageous to try new things.

In conclusion, although studying in your hometown might be beneficial for expenses, students should also consider studying abroad, because it is useful for their worldview.