Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, students are under so much pressure due to stiff competition. In this context, two popular streams of thought can be mentioned where one propounds that students should learn all subjects, others reckon that they should only concentrate on core subjects which are mandatory for certifications. This essay will not only discuss both view points but my opinion will also be highlighted while concluding this.

Commencing with the salient reason why there is a prevailing belief that non-core subjects should be learned by students is that it helps to burn their stresses from their studies. Students have the opportunity to select the subjects according to their interests and happiness. These subjects such as cooking and music are not competition-based but their learnings give students pleasure and time to relax. Moreover, these minor subjects develop creative thinking in the students which helps and motivates them to learn the difficult subjects in an easy and innovative manner. It develops the cognitive thinking in the students. Hence, extra subjects play a significant role in the holistic development of the students.

Despite the given arguments, others reckon that the students should only focus on the core subjects of the course as these subjects need sheer hard work and dedication which in turn require a lot of time. Ultimately, students have very limited time to study and do not have the time to explore other subjects. For instance, many students complaints that they do not get enough time to complete the syllabus of the main subjects and they feel very helpless against the time availabilities. Additionally, students need focus and concentration to achieve the desired grades in the major subjects. Thus they have to sacrifice all other activities so that they can only focus on their targets.The core subjects are the foremost priority of the students which undeniably need a lot of quality time and attention from the students.

In conclusion, Although Students are overflowed with the learnings, I contemplate that noncore subjects should become part of the study curriculum as these give the opportunity to students to reduce mental pressure and cultivate the innovative thinking in them which in turn helps them to do excel in their prime subjects