Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Studying at university is an important stage in every person’s life. Some undergraduates prefer focusing on subjects connected to their future careers, while others try to get a well-rounded education by enriching their schedules with disciplines outside their specialisation. In my opinion, broadening horizons is necessary for students; otherwise, they risk getting narrow knowledge that may limit their potential.

There might be several reasons why some young people tend to focus solely on subjects related to the chosen qualification. Firstly, every academic program consists of various courses that demand a lot of time, mental and physical effort to complete. It is an entire field that gradually unlocks its treasures, providing undergraduates with all the necessary skills. By focusing on one selected sphere, they may gain more in-depth knowledge that will become a good basis for future professional development. Secondly, university curricula are thoroughly designed by educationalists; therefore, it is not necessary to artificially broaden them.

However, I agree with those who prefer a multidisciplinary approach to studying. Scholars tend to draw a strict line between different academic areas that are intrinsically interconnected. Being too fixated on one area of studies may kill students’ curiosity, limit their potential, and lead to the acquisition of very narrow knowledge. Moreover, taking into account that versatile academic skills have always been valued by employers, a multidisciplinary approach can significantly improve employability after graduation.

In conclusion, while people’s opinions differ as to whether or not a multidisciplinary approach may be beneficial to students, I strongly believe that a versatile education plays a pivotal role in the professional and personal development of young people and is a key factor that improves their career prospects.