Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some university students prefer concentrating their efforts on their major subjects while others are more open to studying different minor courses. The former group argues for the importance of specialization in a world where knowledge is expanding at an unprecedented pace. However, I agree with the latter group since interdisciplinary knowledge is crucial in a world facing increasingly complex challenges.

Students who opt for focusing only on courses related to their degree view other subject materials as a distraction and a waste of time and effort. They believe that as the boundaries of knowledge in one field are expanding at an accelerating speed, it is becoming more difficult to get exposed to other areas, and doing so at university might jeopardize their academic performance in compulsory courses. Besides, they think that delving into one specific area may help them become specialists who can compete for positions in the job market requiring more articulate expertise. Overall, their opinion is that the borders between fields ought to remain intact.

On the other hand, other students find it important to invest their time at university to get to know about other fields, so they can make wiser decisions regarding career options and be prepared for modern challenges whose resolutions require interdisciplinary discourse. In my opinion, taking minor courses in other disciplines at university can foster understanding between professionals of different backgrounds in the workforce. The number of research collaborations between natural and social scientists is increasing, where they explore challenging avenues such as the epigenetic changes observed in survivors of war trauma.

To conclude, while the preference of some university students to refrain from studying subjects other than their majors has valid reasons, current global challenges require less strict borders between specialists in order to be solved. Multi-disciplinary training at university, to my mind, will help young people tap into emerging issues that not only pose ethical questions but more often ethical ones.