Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Universities are widely considered as the cornerstone of higher education, as students attend an array of classes to complete their degree and become proficient in their qualifications. To attain this objective, it is not unprecedented that some students require taking additional courses, deviating for their main subjects. This situation leads to a sparking debate about whether restricting or not students on their qualification at university. Both approaches seem to provide benefits, but it may be desulterious for students to disperse themselves from their main programme.

Advocators of a learning experience based on several subjects affirm it is conducive to be competitive on the employment market. Indeed, it is an undisputable fact that companies recruit only the best candidates based on their merits, knowledge, and particularly skills. The diversification of learning subjects will enable students to extend the range of skills in their repertoire. Hence, graduates from these programmes will be able to adapt their competencies to companies’ offer and realities. For example, with the large use of AI integrated solutions, it is understandable that universities include AI learning to the core curriculum of their programmes. Under such circumstances, varying learning subjects may be an appropriate alternative for helping students to settle in a competitive working environment.

While it is true that diversifying the learning subjects may be compelling, students need to be aware that in the short term a specialization in their main subject provides more significant benefits than having a broad range of knowledge. The intensification of the employment market is a testament of this situation. As a matter of fact an expertise in a specific domain is valuable for companies, as it reflects the experience and full dedication invested by students to solve a given predicament. Experts argue that in a competitive employment environment only the more proficient professionals stand out the most and are not affected by the evolution of the market. A case in point is the chat GPT CEO that was firstly dismissed by Open AI and rehired a couple of days later when he was about to land a job at Microsoft. Even though, the AI market has a plethor of tech savy experts nowadays, the proficiency of the founder of the first AI based on learning language is still undisputable.

Overall there are two learning approaches that can be helpful for universities students. One approach encourages students to attend a variety of courses, so that they could have an edge for different jobs positions. The other approach prones a specialization as the skills are perfectly honed to deal with specific challenges faced by companies, especially in a competitive employment market. Both approaches have merits, but the latter requires less amount of times for the trainee to be operational.