Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary society, opinions are divided into whether university students should focus only on their major or widen their choices by attending other subjects. In my opinion, although I acknowledge the importance of the former, I prefer the latter because students may be equipped with diverse experiences before deciding what they love to focus on.

On the one hand, advocates of putting effort into one qualification may emphasize the importance of specialization. They may believe that dividing students’ time and effort into a wide range of subjects would lead the young generations to nowhere in their career path. On the contrary, if students put their heart into one subject, they will have a better understanding of complex theory and a profound insight into putting it into practice, thereby becoming an expert in their field. This will make them stronger candidates in the highly competitive job market which many graduated students have a high chance of facing unemployment. Marketers, for example, specialized in digital marketing have an inclination to get employed by multinational enterprises rather than those who have a general knowledge of Marketing.

On the other hand, studying a wider range of subjects would help students have a better choice in their careers. This is because after graduating from high school, students may not fully understand about themselves or what they want to do in the future, therefore, learning various disciplines brings students an overall knowledge of their main fields. This may assist students in finding their true talent as well as the most suitable career path for their future. Take Marking major as an example, it consists of different sub-majors such as researching, branding, designing, editing, etc. Unless students learn these other disciplines, they may not know what to specialize in the future, leading to confusion in their career path.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge specialization makes students go further in their careers, I strongly believe that learning various disciplines helps them choose the right career path.