Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world it is essential to be skilled and knowledgeable in different areas to provide for a secured future, and that is why some university students desire to have additional subjects to their major ones. However, some may argue that it is more beneficial to focus only on studying for a qualification. I certainly agree that learning things from variety of fields is more important.

On one hand, gaining knowledge about other subjects beside your main ones may bring more career opportunities in the future. Firstly, in our modern world people need to be qualified in different thing to keep up with the development of technology and the demand of the market. For instance, there is a need of programmers with basic physics knowledge because studying Physics helps with critical and logical thinking, which later on makes it easier to optimize computer programs and codes. Secondly, if a person finds out they have no passion in working in the field of their main subject they can easily switch to another one which they have spent additional time learning in university.

On the other hand, many students believe it is better to spend all your time and attention for a qualification because it will make them an expert in that thing and it will be less stressful. In addition, diving in one subject and studying its core will help you memorize and understand it better. Furthermore, it is easier to study similar things in one field than jumping from one subject to a radically different academic field. For example, memorizing the history of a whole nation will quite challenging if you have to practice solving calculus in your spare time to keep up with your other subject.

In conclusion, having knowledge in different areas opens many doors for future professions, and that is why I believe it is more vital to do that. Nevertheless, it all depends on the students’ wishes – if a person is interested in only one academic sphere they can solely focus on it and gain their qualification.