Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that education plays a crucial role in our lives. While it is a commonly held belief that undergraduate students should study other courses beside their majors, there is also an argument that students should focus only on their core courses. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion.

On one hand, university years are the best time to know and discover new things. In other words, although focusing on the main subjects is the university goal, enroll to other students clubs may improve some personal skills such as, communication skills and critical thinking. Moreover, communicating with students from different departements is an incentive for many students to study hard and know more about their discipline in light of the fact that sharing their knowledge with others. For example, the implementation of the new teaching method in Japan, which includes the incorporation of three majors during the whole year, had proved it success.

On the other hand, there is a notion that, nowadays, we live in an era that already full of distractions. Hence, no need for adding an extra one by making the students study various topics. It is also possible to say that instead of focusing on one major and master it, they might gain a surface knowledge only. In addition, learning various and multiple things at the same time could be difficult for some individuals. For instance, the latest statistics demonstrated that a plethora of pupils who had only three courses from the same field had scored more than their peers who studied six multiple courses.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that there are several factors that promote the incorporation learning such as, improve the social skills, gain a new knowledge and also share new information with others.