Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is debated whether students should divide their time between studying their majors and pursuing unrelated interests or prioritize only their qualifications. Some undergraduates consider specialization in one subject the key to success. However, I believe that people should gain knowledge from various areas to prepare themselves for their future.

On the one hand, learning different subjects cultivates cognitive abilities and a balanced education. By breaking the limits of education, people can gain creativity and critical thinking, which are highly valued skills. As an illustration, some research has revealed that people with broader education tend to have desirable careers, as they have the power to import new ideas into their spheres and, therefore, make breakthroughs. Also, it is evident that people like well-rounded partners, so learning different areas promotes healthier relationships. Thus, even if other subjects are not directly applicable to work, a person can improve his self-esteem and personal life.

On the other hand, those who argue for one subject believe in the significance of specialization. It is not a phenomenon that studying different areas is time-consuming and provides a lot of distractions from the major. Thus, some undergraduates prioritize their chosen subject to gain success in their future careers. For instance, a student mastering chemical engineering will be a competitive candidate for a higher and better-paid post if he acquires all the theoretical foundation from his lectures and accumulates practical experience from chemical courses. Any diversions that distract the focus from the qualification can diminish the career-starting potential. However, narrow-focused specialists can lose their job perspectives with the advancement of technology. They will not have the possibility to switch to another work, whereas well-rounded people can easily change their careers.

In conclusion, although specializing in one area provides deep knowledge, I believe that possessing a breadth of knowledge serves as the foundation for a more creative and fulfilled life.