Many young people today spend excessive time on social media. What problems does this cause, and what solutions can be implemented to reduce its negative effects?

Before the rise of social media platforms, the younger generation used to spend their time on more productive activities, such as physical exercise and education. However, nowadays, adolescents devote an excessive amount of time to these platforms. This essay will examine the causes of this issue and propose possible solutions.

One major issue associated with this issue is the evident decline in physical health of teenagers. This is because youth prefer to spend time, which is allocated for personal matters, on either chatting with their pen friends or commenting hilarious content on online platforms. For example, TikTok alike platforms are designed with endless scrolling features. Therefore, youth spend most of their spare time on such platforms. As a result, they experience lack of physical activities, which is obviously detrimental to their physical state. The solution is for the government to curtail the usage of social media by young people. This can be achieved by limiting the screen time of internet-based platforms.

Another significant problem is weak social and communication skills. The younger generation experiences lack of face-to-face interactions. Thus, they struggle with supporting real-life conversations. In addition, youth’s attention span is not as long as the previous generation’s. This leads to reduction of patience in communication. That is to say, they are not able to support long-term conversations. A clear example of this is younger members of ordinary families, who use tablets or any other electronic gadgets during meals and can only respond to the questions of their parents or guardians shortly. The way forward could be for parents to intervene. By implementing this issue, individuals, whose age category ranges from toddlers to teenagers, would develop in terms of reasoning and considering things.

In conclusion, excessive social media use among adolescents leads to issues, such as worsening of physical health and weakening of soft skills. If these proposed measures were implemented, young people would probably become better at time management and enhance their physical states or social skills. However, undoubtedly, I firmly believe that responsibility for solving this issue lies with authority and parents or guardians.