Mobile phones should be completely banned in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the proliferation of smartphones among young people has sparked considerable debate. Some people believe that these modern devices are necessary for students to support and enhance their knowledge acquisition, while others argue that mobile phones need to be banned from youngsters during school time. In my opinion, I believe that during the entire school day, phones can still be utilized by children, yet to a certain extent.

To begin with, few would dispute the substantial benefits that are offered by smartphones. Students can make use of phones as encyclopedias where they can research and learn about any subject. Online platforms and scholastic applications which are accessible through mobile phones are useful resources that foster the young’s academic knowledge and broaden their horizons. For instance, a school boy can easily learn about the history of Vietnam in minutes after some taps searching on the Internet by phone. Furthermore, various games on mobile phones are also engaging tools for children to decompress after a long, high-concentration lesson. Therefore, banning students from using smartphones might prevent them from accessing useful educational resources.

On the other hand, inappropriate use of smartphones can cause considerable drawbacks for young users. Firstly, overusing phones might cause children to become increasingly reliant on external sources and passive in brainstorming. Moreover, spending too much time on, or even being addicted to phones and less interacting with people around can negatively impact students’ communication and social competencies. As a result, a lack of connection with relationships around has escalated day by day. For example, instead of having family time in the evening, many children choose to stay in their rooms surfing the Internet with phones. This situation has led to considerable conflicts and a lack of understanding and connection between children and parents. For this reason, children’s phone use must be under certain restrictions to minimize the negative impacts.

In conclusion, it’s helpful to let students use their phones at school, which supports them in expanding their knowledge and operates as a virtual tutor 24/7 for pupils. However, it is also crucial to have adults accompany and instruct children to optimize phone use, including sufficient using time and clear boundaries between phone-time and other essential activities in their lives.