Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes? and what solutions can be offered?

In recent years, some diseases have become more prevailing among children; one of them is obesity. Generally, this is due to consuming a large amount of junk food, which can be decreased by alluring those youngsters to some home-made, delicious meals.

It has been a trend among young people to substitute their meals with ready-made fast food which contains a large amount of fats and sodium, causing obesity to most of them. Moreover, big food franchises have been leading a wide-scale advertising campaign which targets children specifically. As a consequence, their appetite for junk food has become greater and greater as days go by. For example, one of the most famous fast-food chains that is a favorite for children in Egypt is McDonald’s, and in spite of the irrefutable fact that hamburgers are unhealthy and cause obesity, they are devoured by a large number of young ones.

A sound solution for such a problem manifests in tempting children with a wide variety of delicious, yet nutrient-rich meals. As a matter of fact, mothers are the best caregivers in the world, and on their shoulders lies the responsibility to fill their babies’ tummies with tasty, heartwarming food that would steer them away from fulfilling their cravings elsewhere. Moreover, parents need to conduct constructive, periodic conversations with their offspring, warning them against the side effects of fast foods and the dangerous aspects of obesity. Recently, there has been a government-led campaign on radio and television that attempts to raise awareness against that issue, which is proving successful by the day.

In conclusion, obesity has become pervasive because of the wrong type of food that children tend to consume; yet, an achievable solution can be attained by directing them towards a variety of healthy cuisines that are made at home.