Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes? and what solutions can be offered?

There is no doubt that many children nowadays are suffering from obesity which was once considered to be associated with grown-ups only. This essay discusses some of the reasons and solutions of this problem.

To begin with, obesity in children usually occur due to the uncontrolled intake of sugar. Consuming huge quantities of sugary food is common in this age group which include ice creams, fruit juices, and candy. For example, these high-sugar products are usually the go-to rewards that parents give to their children when they accomplish a task. This leaves young people at risk of many diseases such as: diabetes and sleep apnea, and these conditions can affect them for the rest of their lives.

On the other hand, health agancies all over the world have developed ways to mitigate some of these problems by educating the public about the dangers of excessive sugar intake. This can be done through campaigns in social media, television, and newspapers. It should be stressed out that meals ought to be balanced so that they include protein and vegetables and not just the tasty carbohydrates. For example, in the UK, the NHS provides the “eat well” initiative that gives advice to people of all ages about how much calories to intake per day, something that differs from a child to an adult and from a man to a woman.

To conclude, obesity in children is a modern phenomenon in the world that stems from poor eating habits. Public education of the dangers it imposes to the young’s health and the means to avoid these problems, is essential. Prevention is always better that cure.