Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes? and what solutions can be offered?

Nowadays, the increasing rate of overweight children and adults is a worldwide

health issue. Obesity is a major problem which is increasing day by day in school

going children. There are various reasons behind it. This essay will discuss the

causes of obesity and offer some solutions.

The first cause of obesity is junk food. It is often seen that mostly children are fond

of burgers, pizzas, noodles and Coke. These types of foods are easily available to

them in school canteens. Children love to purchase chips, chocolates, – ice-cream

for lunch. Moreover, in this modern era, parents are working and they do not have

time to cook at home. Parents often buy dinner for their children instead of

preparing food at home. This calorie-rich diet is making children obese. This

problem can be solved by teaching children to cook healthy foods for themselves

and banning junk foods and fizzy drinks in schools. This diet can be replaced by

milk, juice and fruits for lunch.

The second cause of obesity is sedentary life style. It is true that the use of

computers and television is increasing among children. They spend most of their

time watching television or playing video games on a computer. This technological

advancement has reduced the level of physical activity in this specific age group.

This issue can be resolved by encouraging children to do physical exercises.

Parents can take their children to park to encourage playing with friends.

Furthermore, schools can add sports in their curriculum to maintain physical

fitness in their students.

To sum up, it is clear that main causes of obesity are unhealthy eating and not

enough physical activities. This ailment can be prevented and treated by healthy

eating habits and physical exercises.