Modern information and communications technologies make it possible for us to become constantly connected to our environment and to others. Will this make us more or less happy? Provide additional examples.

All humans are exposed to the world in terms of information and communication, although the increased accessibility exerts positive influence on various sectors, in the individual level, people are facing challenges such as addiction to social media and establishing distinct opinions.

One prime example of the development of information technology, the Internet has made it difficult for the young to have distinct ideas, as individuals, especially the adolescents are exposed to a vast information, including comments about one’s personal thoughts, and they often suffer to discern what opinion to believe in when I read about an opinion of a right wing politician, despite knowing it as in polarized idea, I unconsciously was con convinced. This illustrates the considerable power of information technology to shape one’s thoughts.

As for communication technology, the substantial availability has transformed people’s lifestyles. The constant exposure to others poses a significant burden on the population as it reduces one’s personal, private time. Individuals naturally text back when they receive a message even if they do not want to because of the strong connection with others, established by the enhanced interconnectedness, thus, in modern days people cannot enjoy their private life since they are connected to others 24/7.

Information and communication technologies are wielding excessive impact on humanity, forming one’s belief in taking away personal times. We humans must strike a sound balance on independence and reliance on such technologies.