Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society. Support your answer with reasons and examples .from your own knowl­ edge or experience.

Advances in medical science have helped many people defeat different diseases; as a result, people live longer than ever. Such a great development has a significant effect on society, both positive and negative.

On the one hand, older people can still continue contributing to society. Most elderly people remain healthy and active. They can work, share their wisdom and life experiences with the younger generation, and support their families. For example, we often see grandparents helping parents take care of children, reducing stress on the family. In addition, society values the knowledge and skills of older people who have many experiences.

On the other hand, living longer also creates several disadvantages. One major problem is increasing pressure on the healthcare system. Older people usually need a lot of medicine and procedures in order to keep their health stable. This means the government will have to increase its spending on the healthcare system. Another issue is related to retirement and pensions. In many countries, the population of older people is growing, which means the younger generation must support them through taxes. Moreover, longer life expectancy affects employment opportunities for younger people. Most of the older generation decides to stay in their jobs, making it harder for the younger generation to find a job.

In conclusion, as we can see, living longer expectancy can bring benefits such as supporting their family, and disadvantages like creating competition in the job market. The government and society should work together in order to find a solution to deal with these challenges.