Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society. Support your answer with reasons and examples .from your own knowl­ edge or experience.

These days healthcare system and medical science have developed enough to combat many diseases. As a result of this people live longer, thrive and breed. This development has both advantages and drawbacks. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the topic.

To start with, the main benefit of people living longer is that humans now have more time to enjoy their lives. A person who does not have to rush and worry about a short lifespan, can focus on such things as education, travel or self-realization. This can serve as a great opportunity for a human to pursue their interests and dream-life. Furthermore, now with the technology advancement, social media and online communication people have more awareness about health, mental well-being, and the significance of physical activities which also is a cause of long lives.

However, despite these benefits, there are also serious outcomes from aging population. For instance, in many European countries the majority of citizens are pensioners, which means that the unemployment rate is high. This leads to economic crises and challenges for the authorities to maintain pension payments and the country’s economic stability. Another factor to consider is, the lack of available land for housing due to the growing population. This can play as a major reason of deforestations.

In conclusion, I would like to say that population growing can cause lots of issues that people haven’t met before. On the one hand we face with the harsh reality of growing population disadvantages. On the other hand we have a thriving and healthy humans. Therefore, governments should focus on sustainable policies to balance population growth and quality of life.