Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive the government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is one of the most essential part to increase the development of a country. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of giving free education for subjects that are needed by society and not free for others overshadow the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there is argued that giving tuition free for students who take public needs course makes burden for governments budget. There are a lot of students who taking those subjects so the responsibility of the government is big. In addition, the tuition fee of the college was increase gradually, in line with inflation rate. In the other side, the majority of governments have limited fiscal space for education sector, although it is important sector.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the disadvantages. This policy makes those special subjects be more attract for students candidate. Some candidates who have financial problem can join the selection. The more appealing the majors, the more competitive they are. This condition can increase quality of the subjects because of its competitiveness, so only the best students who would receive this scholarship program. Increasing quality of education is inline with the quality of outputs, so the graduated will give more benefits to the society more and more.

In conclusion, while paying fee education for students who taking subjects that are needed by society makes more burden for government budget, it provide some important benefit. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that the advantages of this educational policy outweigh the drawbacks.