More and more adults are playing computer games. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative trend?

An increasing number of adults are spending their time playing video games on computers and smartphones. This is mainly due to the release of new games every day, and also, many people use gaming to relax from their hectic lives. The effects of gaming can be both positive and negative, depending upon the time they spend on them.

Firstly, game developing studios are launching new games into the market every day, providing individuals with a vast number of choices in numerous different genres. These are developed in such a way that many individuals have a never-ending wish to try these games. Secondly, many adults utilize gaming as a way to relax from the stress of busy schedules and hectic work lives. Moreover, nowadays, games are being developed with multiplayer and co-op functionality built into them, enabling users to enjoy these games with friends, providing a new way of connecting with their friends.

However, the effects of gaming on individuals can vary greatly depending upon the time they spend. Prolonged gaming sessions can lead to serious issues for both physical health, such as farsightedness, weakness, and fatigue, as well as mental health, like anxiety and depression. Further, due to addiction to these games, one can refuse to interact with others and refrain from doing anything productive, leading to dependence on others and a lack of social as well as practical skills in individuals.

Eventually, studios releasing new games regularly provide individuals with access to numerous options to play from, but the usage of these games should be done cautiously and in a controlled manner, as they can have detrimental consequences on one’s life.