More and more adults are playing computer games. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is certainly true that computer games are becoming more popular among adults. There are several factors that contribute to the increasing popularity, and this would be a positive trend.

The popularity of video games has increased due to several reasons. As technology has advanced, gaming has evolved in many ways such as gameplay, visual effects and character movement. This makes video games more attractive for those people who are looking for alternative entertaining media apart from series and movies. Moreover, playing games can offer a sense of success. For instance, MMORPG players feel delighted whenever they can clear the achievement or receive rare collections, e.g. cards and monsters. Furthermore, many adults that grew up during the emergence of the game industry still maintain their passion and have more ability to purchase new games.

It seems to me that the growing trend of computer games is beneficial for adults. Firstly, computer games serve as a form of entertainment that people use to reduce stress and relax. Secondly, multiplayer games provide an opportunity for adults to keep in touch with their friends, especially for those who have a profession that requires them to work far away from their friends. They can also foster new online relationships by sharing experiences and spending time together. Thirdly, there is scientific proof that gaming can enhance cognitive skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, multitasking and decision making. For example, in FPS games, the player has to make a decision under pressure circumstances, simultaneously, predicting enemy players’ behaviors and analyzing their strategies. As a result, Those skills are sharpened and they might have an ability to use it instinctively.

In conclusion, the advancement of technology and fulfillment of adults are the main reasons that are leading to the rising trend of computer games. This trend is undoubtedly positive, as it offers several advantages.”