More and more people are leaving their rural homes to live in cities. What are the main causes? What are the possible solutions?

An increasing number of people are leaving their towns and villages to live in cities. The main causes are the lack of work and services, and the most viable solutions are extending working places and building essential infrastructure in towns.

The main cause of the migration of people to cities is the less offer of workplaces in towns. People decide to move to cities because large businesses are located there and this means higher supply of work, higher salaries and more chances to get the job they have always dreamed. Another cause is lack of facilities and individuals prefer cities because of a wide range of utilities. Cities provide everything that a person want, starting from schools, and healthcare, to leisure and sport facilities. For instance, in Milan there are several playgrounds where children can play, five different universities, and large fields to practise sports.

To tackle the problems, a good measure could be giving more working opportunities in small towns, so to decentralise core businesses from the city centre. New job opportunities may be created, and therefore, if people work there, most of them might lose the interest to move to cities. Another possible solution are the improvements of the existing services and the implementation of the new essential ones, in order to satisfy the needs of the population. For instance, if essential services were provided, people would not be interested in moving to cities because their desires would already be satisfied.

In conclusion, the lack of working positions and the lack of facilities can be addressed by providing more workplaces and more crucial services in rural places.