More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

That people obtain an assortment of household goods nowadays has become increasingly popular. I, personally, think that this is a positive development due to its convenience and its usefulness in dealing with issues created by stress.

First of all, it is obvious that purchasing a wider range of household goods helps to facilitate convenience among families. In the past, people often allocated a considerable amount of their time for household chores, which required rigorous efforts to manage successfully, for example cooking rice without a rice cooker, leading to the ineffective use of time. In contrast to today, when individuals are offered to do household chores automatically by machines, helping them to allocate time more effectively and save a lot of energy for other sorts of activities such as making money. For example, in the past, without the use of a washing machine, people found washing clothes extremely vexatious and time-consuming compared to now when washing clothes is becoming more effortless, helping people to save more time for recreational activities such as socializing with others.

Some people generally hold the belief that it is not necessarily pragmatic for individuals to obtain such expensive household goods nowadays. However, I believe that purchasing those is compatible with our increasing demand for recreational purposes. In the past, when the quality of life was below par because of the instability of income earned by individuals, it is understandable that the needs for entertainment were relatively lower than the need for food compared to now when we can easily satisfy our hunger because we can get access to food easily. Hence, we tend to allocate money for other purposes, one of which is entertainment, leading to the increasing need to satisfy ourselves. Additionally, in the past because competitions for jobs pale in comparison with nowadays, leading to less stress. Therefore, the need to entertain in the past was lower than today when people are found distressed by work, leading to the need to entertain themselves after work, inadvertently facilitating the demand to address issues created by stress.

In conclusion, it is an absolute development for an individual to obtain household goods nowadays. Not only does this trend help to allocate time more effectively for our own personal purposes but also aid our increasing demand for entertainment to alleviate stress after work.