More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There has been a growing trend that many customers have demanded to purchase a variety of goods which are used for cleaning up their house. Although it offers some benefits for both individuals and governments, I hold the view that buying many household goods still remain negative aspects for society’s development.

On the one hand, the idea of using many household goods has positive impacts. Firstly, buying household products proves that people’s lives are improved and they have enough money to purchase it .The government has methods to eradicate poverty as well as create more jobs for residents that reduce unemployment’ density and accelerate financial growth. Secondly, household goods such as vacuum cleaners and dishwashers help people’s lives become easier. Individuals can be pre- programmed for household applications in order to clean up, while resting and prioritize entertainment activities to remove work and study stress on weekends.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why I suppose that using too excessive household goods leads detrimental effects for society. The primary reason is that under marketing strategies’ effect, people create a sense of FOMO ( fear of missing out) in society. Although these products are not necessary, they force to own it to avoid disappointed and keep up with hot trend items. Another reason is that many household products create competing between industries, especially, companies manufacturing high-quaility and expensive products are difficult to survive among thousand of items. For example, Tupperware has closed after 70 years because it is copied too much and can not compete with other brands.

In conclusion, although buying a wide range of household products can improve people’s life and reduce housework times, it is still a negative development due to creating FOMO effects for customers and high-quality products can not survive.