More and more people buy a wide range of household goods such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has become common for household items like rice cookers, microwave ovens, and televisions to be everywhere. Even if these conveniences are now more widely available, there are still drawbacks, but overall, I think this trend is beneficial for modern society.

On the one hand, having the ability to use household equipment greatly improves consumers’ quality of life. Cooking and housework take less time and effort, offering time for hobbies, entertainment, and other interests. Additionally, it enhances the value of daily life by making everyday activities more comfortable and convenient. For instance, a microwave oven allows for quick and easy meal preparation, freeing up valuable time for families. Moreover, household products have played a significant role in a country’s economy in recent years. As people purchase different varieties of household appliances, it pushes companies to manufacture more products. Consequently, it will boost competitiveness in the industry and offer more job opportunities for people in the country.

On the other hand, it is recognized that there are certain drawbacks to the increasing use of household goods, including more waste and possible financial difficulties. Firstly, household devices are expensive to purchase as well as consume a lot of electricity. An oven, for example, might cost up to $500, which is equivalent to the standard Vietnamese monthly salary. Secondly, it could create a detrimental impact on the environment. The production, transportation, and disposal of these items contribute a lot to carbon emission and countries’ pollution. As a result, this phenomenon poses a serious threat to the environment, making it a severe issue for the government and the citizens.

In conclusion, despite the negative impact household products have on the environment, it is clearly beneficial for people to own a wide variety of it in their homes, as these products elevate their living standards. In my opinion, I consider this as a positive trend for consumers, but not for the environment.