More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, people tend to visit famous places around the world to capture their photos and share them on social networks. While having memories of visited places and sharing them with friends is positive aspects of this phenomenon, it prevents individuals from enjoying real-life events and could have negative social impacts which will be elaborated on in this essay.

People usually take many photos, specifically selfies, in renowned places like historical buildings, towers, and sports events and share them with their family, friends, and social circle around the world through social networks such as Instagram. This tendency is generally due to their interest to be seen by others. Additionally, they like to record their sightseeing memory to remember and review it in the future.

Despite the positive results of this development such as memorizing personal experiences, and making others familiar with those famous sites, there are numerous negative consequences. When people try to capture their photos in a venue like a sports stadium, they will not touch the real sense of that special experience. Watching the taken photos later, will not give them the sense of a real experience.

Furthermore, sharing personal life events through the internet is becoming a negative social norm. Online users try to show off their lives by posting their photos in known places to capture others’ attention and rise to fame. This predicament can negatively impact the people who cannot afford travelling to those places and distract them from their real lives.

To sum up, while taking personal photos in well-known places to remember them in the future or to share them with friends is desirable, I firmly believe that it can have several destructive impacts like losing real-world joy, and disturbing social emotions through show-off.