More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

These days, a lot of people visit popular places only to take photographs of themselves without caring about carrying out effective sightseeing around the place. I can boldly say this is one of the things the Internet has caused.

Taking memorable pictures is a fascinating and interesting thing. It helps keep memories of wonderful moments and experiences. Gone are the days when people visit well-known places like waterfalls, museums, ancient cities, e.t.c. with the intention of connecting with nature, knowing and seeing more about the place. For example, when people take trips to natural water parks or resorts, the resort guides always show and guide visitors around the place, teaches them the significance of the features they can see around, such as the type of water, its source, its temperature at different times, e.t.c

However, in recent times the case is different. Just few people or no one is interested in learning about a place. All they are interested in is taking of aesthetic photographs just for the purpose of uploading them on social media platforms like instagram and facebook . Also, these pictures serve as evidence to the fact that they have been to such places. And I think for a lot of individuals, this alone gives them satisfaction.

In conclusion, many people are more interested in taking photographs of themselves in aesthetic popular places just to feel good about the fact that they have an evidence of being in such places at the certain time, rather than actually looking around the place. In my opinion, this is more of a negative trend, causing people to be unaware of environments and not paying attention to details.