More and more people nowadays visit well-known places to take photographs of themselves, without looking at the place. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or a negative trend?

One of the latest trends, which has gained enormous popularity among people is visiting famous locations mostly to take pictures of themselves there, rather than to see and enjoy the place itself. Whilst some people think this trend is a positive one, helping to get to know new locations, others express their concerns about trend of making shots will attract excessive interest to places, creating a negative impact on the location and surroundings. I personally believe that this is a positive drift, leading to promotion of top places as well as it is giving the opportunity to attract new customers.

Those, who express a notable concern about negative impacts of this new drift consider, that growing attention on thoughtless making pictures will create an innumerable issues for the environment of the place. One of top places for instance is the Everest mountain, which gained fame recently among those who are far from high-climbing, led by advertisement of the place, saying that anyone can climb the peak, some people made decision to risk. However, this idea to conquer the famous mountain and make selfie photo on the top turned out to be hazardous and created great issues such as queues near the top, giving additional pressure on the participants of the trip as well as pollution issues and litter reached enormous amounts, making government think how to get rid of garbage.

Conversely, those who advocate this modern trend of making photos, claim that there is a brilliant change for the place to be promoted and get benefits from this. Making the place more well-known will definitely assist in business growth, whereas being unknown in modern reality means being poor or unnoticed. I strongly believe that the photo-making popularity can have a positive impact on the place development. Moreover, the attention, aroused by social media can attract sponsors and investors in order to improve the area, supporting the owner financially.

In conclusion, modern social trends such as making selfie photos can have both benefits and drawbacks. To my mind, the idea to post selfie photos in different locations in social media is a positive and effective way to promote the place and can be extremely effective in problem solving.