More and more people play computer games why does it happen? Is it a positive for negative trend?

Computer games have been popularized since the late 1990s. It is not uncommon for more and more adults to start playing video games. However the impacts it has on adults may be more negative than positive.

There has been a growing recognition of computer games being a positive influence in some adults. Computer games are a way for adults to separate themselves from reality, unconcerned about any troubles, which can be therapeutic as an outlet of stress. The relaxing feeling decreases cortisol levels and enhances overall mood boosting the well being of many adults. ‎Making computer games become a rising popularity in hobbies for many adults

Whereas excessive time on computer games is much more consequential especially for adults predominantly with children, than some may have imagined. Related problems can be anticipated deriving from the lack of time spent with the child. When parents have less part in the child’s life they begin to develop behavioral issues such as increased aggression, socializing problems, or in some cases, symptoms resembling withdrawal or anxiety. Creating future functioning complications for the child in adulthood. Furthermore the relationship between the family will have become distant, exacerbating the situation making rebuilding the connection between child and parent even harder than it is currently.

To conclude computer games do provide benefits to adults it should not be prioritized over a child’s development. Largely due to the fact that it can permanently affect them in the long run, it should be advised to not spend a majority of time on computer games over bonding in order to create a healthy relationship and promising future for them.