More and more people today are spending a large amount of money on their complexions in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative progression?

Nowadays, since the beauty industry is significantly developed, there is an increasing number of people who are eager to allocate huge sums of money to their appearance to look younger. There are certain reasons for such a trend, whilst I believe that it is an adverse tendency.

To begin with, the major reason why people opt for looking younger is the obsession of staying attractive and getting social approval. It is undeniable that many people judge each other by their appearance. For example, regarding social media, there is a clear connection between the look of a blogger and the number of followers they have. As a result, some might undergo pricey plastic surgeries and beauty procedures in order to preserve their young look as long as possible. Another reason why it is happening is the the fear of aging and the desire to delay it. Some people perceive getting old as something terrible, as they are afraid of becoming helpless and useless. So, by spending a fortune on their appearance, they strive to prolong their youth and feel better mentally.

Despite the fact that stunning appearance makes people feel more confident and strengthens their position in society, I’m convinced this trend is detrimental. The appearance obsession might lead to adverse, irreversible consequences. For example, there are some celebrities in the USA who used to allocate enormous sums of money to the beauty procedures and underwent plenty of plastic surgeries in order to stay young. However, all these led to poor health and the inability to reverse to their natural look which made them regret their choice. Moreover, such a tendency serves as a bad example for teenagers and young people, making them believe that having enough money they are able to change their appearance easily, and it is approved in society. This may lead to serious mental problems with the acceptance of their appearance.

In conclusion, social approval and the fear of aging are the main reasons why people allocate too much money to their appearance to look younger. It is obvious that this tendency is negative, as it leads to unhealthy obsessions and may cause psychological problems among younger generations.