More and more students choose to move to other countries to study their higher education. Do you think the advantages of this outweight its disadvantages?

In knowledge based society, an increasing number of students have to pursue higher education in foreign countries. While study abroad comes with its own set of challenges, this essay will argue that the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of pursuing tertiary education. Firstly, a university degree will open the door, which will help them reach better job opportunities in the future. This is because universities offer students a holistic learning environment, where students can not only have a chance to acquire theoretical knowledge but also cultivate practical skills . Secondly, students are usually encouraged to participate in extracurricular activities while pursuing higher education. This will enable them to improve soft skills such as teamwork and communication skills. Last but not least, living alone in a foreign country will force the students to be more independent. They will have to cook, clean and pay the bills themselves. The experience will be useful as they enter adult life.

On the other hand, the benefits may also become challenges. Living alone in a foreign country may lead to mental problems such as homesickness or autism. In addition, for students whose families are not wealthy, they may have to work extra time to support themselves. This will affect the amount of time they can spend on studying, defeating the whole purpose of studying abroad.

In conclusion, I believe the advantages of international exposure and the development of essential life skills far outweigh its disadvantages as it can lead to significant growth of personal skills and qualities, thus creating more global citizens.