More and more students choose to move to other countries to study their higher education. Do you think the advantages of this outweight its disadvantages?

Increasingly more students in the present are moving to other countries for higher education. I believe that the problems of this trend outweigh the benefits, as even though studying abroad opens plenty of opportunities, many young people do not return to their home countries, which greatly impacts the economical state of the country due to lack of professionals.

In the modern world, many graduates of high schools are opting for continuing their studies in different countries. This tendency is associated with the opportunities that education in foreign countries can offer, especially important for young people from developing countries. Top universities in countries, such as USA, UK or Japan have facilities, convenient for studying, as well as a highly valued diploma. For example, many high school students from Central Asia undergo intense training for the admission to universities of developed countries, because educational establishments for higher studies in Central Asia cannot offer broad opportunities, such as work in modern laboratories or a highly valued diploma.

However, students, who move to more developed countries often tend to stay there, refusing to return to their home countries. This proclivity of youngsters has a negative effect on their home country’s economic state: instead of being a part of the country’s workforce, they work in another country, decreasing the number of potential professionals. For instance, in recent years, vast majority of Indian students that entered foreign universities remain there, becoming proficient doctors and engineers. Whereas India’s economic state is worsening every year due to lack of professionals in spheres, such as medicine and engineering.

In conclusion, I believe that the problems of students’ emigration greatly overweigh the benefits it can offer, as although studying abroad offers wide range of opportunities, such as convenient facilities and high quality education, students tend to settle in foreign countries, which negatively impacts the economic state of their home country due to the lack of professionals in many fields.