More students should choose to do voluntary work during the long holidays rather than work for money. Discuss

The practice of long holidays after the completion of a school year exists in many countries. Some people believe that during this period students should do voluntary work instead of working for money. The other group believes that young people should prefer paid employment because it provides more valuable experience. The essay will examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion.

Students should select voluntary work for multiple valid reasons. The first benefit of voluntary work is participants develop essential personal aspects such as responsibility and patience. This challenges lead to their personal development. The second advantage of voluntary work is that students improve their future job prospects. Many universities and employers appreciate applicants who have social experience. The acquired experience will provide students with future benefits.

The practice of earning money through work carries obvious advantages. The main advantage of this situation is that it creates financial freedom for the individual. The experience of earning a salary enables students to acquire financial management skills together with understanding the worth of money. Some students need to work because they come from families with low income and they must support themselves or provide assistance to their parents. The need for financial support during holidays makes paid employment essential.

In conclusion, both options provide benefits which make them equally valuable. The better option for students who do not experience financial challenges is to perform voluntary as it enables them to develop personal growth and acquire essential life skills.